Langues

Research laboratory
UMR 6602 - UCA/CNRS/SIGMA

Photonics, waves, nanomaterials

 

 


 

Presentation

The PHOTON department brings together theoreticians and experimenters of condensed matter, electromagnetism and electronics. It is made up of 35 permanent teachers-researchers, researchers and engineers, and 16 PhD students and post-docs. PHOTON scientific topics are related to the sections 03, 04 et 08 of the CNRS, and sections 28 and 63 of the CNU. PHOTON is an international leader in its fields of activity. Research is divided into three main topics:

  • Nanostructures and Nanophotonics (PHOTON - N2), head : Pierre Disseix

Theory and spectroscopy of semiconductor nanostructures, Optical Electromagnetism. We study theoretically and experimentally microcavities in the strong coupling regime between light and matter. Bose Einstein condensation of exciton-polaritons and related phenomena, such as superfluidity, spinoptronics, room temperature polariton lasing are studied. Another topic of research is the manipulation of light in photonic crystals and metamaterials.

The MINAMAT group develop three fields of investigation:

- Passivation and nanostructuration of surfaces in ultra-high vacuum, coupled with molecular quantum dynamics modelling ;
- Synthesis of III-(As,P) and III-N semiconductor nanowires and nanostructures by hydride vapor phase epitaxy (HVPE) ;
- Synthesis and development of sensitive nanomaterials (molecular semiconductors) for the design of chemical microsensors for the detection of gaseous species (selective metrology of weakly concentrated chemical species).

The group develops numerical models, both deterministic and stochastic in order to predict coupling phenomena between electromagnetic waves and complex systems, such as electronic devices, but also biological species. This numerical activity is bound with experiments performed in a reverberation chamber.

 

 

 

The PHOTON department has published 375 research papers between 2010 and 2015, including Nature, Nature Physics, Nano Letters, Physical Review Letters, Applied Physics Letters, Optics Express, Planta, Physical Review B, Analyst, Organic Electronics, Sensors & Actuators B.

PHOTON registered 8 patents during this reporting period.

 

 

Head

Manager Guillaume MALPUECH This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. +33 4 7340 5258
Vice manager Emmanuel CENTENO This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. +33 4 7340 5369

 

Address

INSTITUT PASCAL
Campus Universitaire des Cézeaux
4 Avenue Blaise Pascal
Batiment Physique 3
TSA 60026
CS 60026
63178 Aubière Cedex

 

Executive assistant

Vanessa CHAUDRON This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. +33 4 7340 5271
     

  +33 4 7340 7340

Langues

Laboratoire de recherche
UMR 6602 - UCA/CNRS/SIGMA

PHOTonique, Ondes, Nanomatériaux

 

 


 

Présentation

Le département PHOTON (responsables : Guillaume Malpuech et Emmanuel Centeno) de l'Institut Pascal rassemble physiciens et ingénieurs en électronique. Il est composé d'environ 40 enseignants-chercheurs, chercheurs et ingénieurs, et de 30 doctorants et post-doctorants. Les activités du département PHOTON se rapportent aux 3ème, 4ème et 8ème sections du CNRS et aux sections 28 et 63 du CNU. PHOTON est un département de recherche très actif qui est reconnu internationalement. Les activités scientifiques couvrent trois thèmes de recherche :

  • Nanophotonique et Nanostructures (PHOTON - N2), responsable Pierre Disseix
    Théorie et spectroscopie des semi-conducteurs, électromagnétisme optique. Nous étudions de façon théorique et expérimentale les microcavités dans un "régime de couplage dur" entre la lumière et la matière. La condensation de Bose-Einstein des excitons-polaritons et les phénomènes connexes, tels que la superfluidité, le spin-optronics, la chambre polaritons de température lasing, sont étudiés. Nous travaillons aussi sur la manipulation de la lumière dans les cristaux et les métamatériaux photoniques.

 

  • Microsystèmes et nanomatériaux (PHOTON - Minamat), responsable Christine Robert-Goumet
    Trois champs d’investigation sont développés au sein du theme MINAMAT :
    - Passivation et nanostructuration de surfaces sous ultravide couplées à des modélisations par dynamique quantique moléculaire ;
    - Synthèse de nanofils et de nanostructures par croissance cristalline en phase vapeur par la méthode aux hydrures (HVPE) ;
    - Synthèse, mise en forme de nanomatériaux sensibles pour la conception de micro-capteurs chimiques dédiés à détection de gaz polluants.

 

  • Compatibilité électromagnétique (PHOTON - CEM), responsable Pierre Bonnet
    Notre groupe développe des modèles numériques, à la fois déterministes et stochastiques, dans le but de prévoir des phénomènes de "couplage" entre les ondes électromagnétiques et les systèmes complexes, comme les dispositifs électroniques mais aussi les espèces biologiques. Cette activité numérique est réalisée dans une chambre réverbérante.

 

L'axe PHOTON a publié 210 articles entre 2010-2015 et déposé 7 brevets. Beaucoup de publications ont paru dans des revues très cotées scientifiquement (Nature, Nature Physics, Nano Letters, Physical Review Letters, Applied Physics Letters, Optics Express, Planta, Physical Review B, Analyst, Organic Electronics, Sensors & Actuators B).

 

Responsables

Responsable Guillaume MALPUECH Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. +33 4 7340 5258
Responsable adjoint Emmanuel CENTENO Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. +33 4 7340 5369

 

Adresse

INSTITUT PASCAL
Campus Universitaire des Cézeaux
4 Avenue Blaise Pascal
Batiment Physique 3
TSA 60026
CS 60026
63178 Aubière Cedex

 

Assistantes de direction

Françoise BOHAUD Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. +33 4 7340 7826
Christine TURCAT Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. +33 4 7340 7220

  +33 4 7340 7340